Friday, November 28, 2014

Live Ledge #177: Charlie Siren

Total Drag Records is quickly becoming Sioux Falls' biggest secret, and it has also been a godsend for my writing and pocasting. Tonight, Minneapolis pop-punkers Charlie Siren are headlining a show at the record store, so I'm airing the interview that resulted in today's Argus Leader article.
Otherwise it's a short show for this holiday weekend, highlighted by a number of tracks from a great compilation of Irish punk rock, Good Vibrations: The Punk Singles Collection. There's also some whining about what I'm missing in Minneapolis this weekend, which includes a Replacements tribute show and an appearance by Lydia Loveless on Saturday. Thanks to Gorman Bechard, I was able to preview a song by a band led by Lydia's sister, Jessica Wabbit. Her band, The Girls! will be opening the show at the Triple Rock tomorrow night. Gorman summed up their debut album, Let's Not Be Friends, perfectly on Facebook: "Let's Not Be Friends is a great power pop record that comes at a time when power pop is pretty much six feet under. But it's alive and kicking here."
Grab this show from the usual sources, or...


1. You Am I, Another Girl, Another Planet
2. Charlie Siren, Broken
3. Charlie Siren, Rearranging Rooms
4. Undertones, Smarter Than U
5. Rudi, Overcome By Fumes
6. Outcasts, Love You For Never
7. Androids, Bondage In Belfast
8. The Girls!, Let's Not Be Friends
9. Wild Flag, Romance
10. The White Wires, Just Wanna Be With You
11. The Yum Yums, Girls Like That
12. The Wrens, Faster Gun
13. 999, Homicide

Friday, November 21, 2014

Live Ledge #176: Bloodshot Records

Chicago-based Bloodshot Records has always been a favorite of mine. Over the years, they've put out some wonderful records by Alejandro Escovedo, Old 97's, Lydia Loveless, Graham Parker, and many more. They've also been the label responsible for tribute albums of the likes of Wanda Jackson and The Knitters, along with a number of other fantastic compilation projects.
This week, the label celebrated their 20th anniversary with the release of While No One Was Looking: Toasting 20 Years of Bloodshot Records. The two disc set features 38 artists covering great songs from the label's discography. Tonight's show heavily features this collection, including Superchunk's remake of Ryan Adam's "Come Pick Me Up", The Handsome Family remaking "1000 Dollar Car" by The Bottle Rockets, and many more. The rest of the show features samples from other releases from the label, including those samplers mentioned earlier.
Grab this show via the usual sources, or...


1. The Handsome Family, 1000 Dollar Car
2. Blitzen Trapper, To Be Young (Is To Be Sad, Is To Be High)
3. Chris Shiflett & the Dead Peas, Look the Other Way
4. Two Gallants, Truck Driver
5. Chuck Prophet, Dirt
6. Freakwater, Drunk Friend
7. The Handsome Family, Moving Furniture Around
8. The Starkweathers, Little White Trash Boy
9. The Bottle Rockets, Get Down
10. Graham Parker, Almost Thanksgiving Day
11. Old 97's, Victoria
12. Jon Langford, 1234Ever
13. Alejandro Escovedo, Castanets
14. Th' Legendary Shack Shakers, Pinetree Boogie
15. Trailer Bride, Poor Little Critter on the Road
16. The Blacks, The New World
17. John Doe With Jim and Jennie & The Pinetops, Call of the Wreckin' Ball
18. Porter Hall TN, People Who Died
19. Waco Bros, The Harder They Come
20. Neko Case, Rated X
21. Andre Williams & The Sadies, Shake A Tail Feather
22. Dollar Store, I Want To Destroy You
23. Eddie Spaghetti, If Anyone's Got the Balls
24. Scott H. Biram, Alcohol Blues
25. Cory Branan, C'mon Shadow
26. Lydia Loveless, Verlaine Shot Rimbaud
27. Limbeck, Sound of Running
28. Superchunk, Come Pick Me Up
29. Warm Soda, All Grown Up
30. Diarrhea Planet, Dry Land
31. Justin Townes Earle, Can't Hardly Wait

Friday, November 14, 2014

Live Ledge #175: Narco States

Every now and then, I discover a great band due to my Argus Leader writing gig. This was one of those weeks, as I was assigned to cover the Narco States show at Total Drag Records. Singer/guitarist Michael Meyer is a former Sioux Falls resident, and we had a great chat about old and new garage rock. Their new album, Wicked Sun, is one of the best releases to come out of Minneapolis in quite some time. If you're a fan of Roky Erickson's legendary psych-rock mixed with punk rock energy, then this is the record for you. You can read my article on the band HERE.
Besides two tracks from that release, I air my interview with Meyer on tonight's show. The rest of the show follows in a similar musical frame, with tons of recently-released garage rock. There's also a segment celebrating realpunkradio's latest free compilation. Swamp Jacuzzi, the show that preceeds Live Ledge at 5 pm CT every Friday night, has just put out a fabulous sampler of the types of bands he plays on his show. In the midst of that set, host Biggie Boutte comes on to talk about not only this release but the concept of his great show. Click HERE for your own copy of this set.
This is one of the best Live Ledge broadcast from quite some time, so grab this from iTunes, Stitcher, or...


1. Superchunk, Come Pick Me Up  
2. Narco States, Mass Exodus
3. Narco States, Lost In Time
4. Jeff the Brotherhood, Gouge Away  
5. Ty Segall, Green Belly
6. Meatbodies, Plank
7. Lombego Surfers, Monkey Juice
8. Ex Hex, Beast Rips
9. White Mystery, Dubble Dragon
10. Death Valley Girls, Girlfriend
11. The Pink Tiles, State Of The Nation
12. The Last Blackouts, Outta Site Outta Mind
13. The Great Dismal Swamis, I Wanna Get Ripped
14. Jane Rose & The Deadend Boys, Man's Ruin
15. Nox Boys, Mr. Noone
16. King Tuff, Headbanger
17. Lace Curtain, Saint Vitus
18. Spider Bags, Summer Of '79
19. The Creeps, Cancer Eulogies
20. The Gotobeds, Wasted On Youth/Melted Candle
21. Bleached, For The Feel
22. Useless Eaters, Dungeon
23. The #1s, Anything
24. Dead Strangers, Stella's Gone
25. Terry Malts, Grumpiest Old Men
26. Blind Shake, Dots In The Fog
27. Sonny Vincent and Spite, Dog On the Subway

Friday, November 07, 2014

Live Ledge #174: Matthew Ryan

Matthew Ryan's new album, Boxers, is one of the highlights of the year. Tonight he joins Live Ledge for a long, incisive interview about not only the new album but a variety of topics including the difficulties on being a D.I.Y. artist and how he wishes to be a "uniter" when it comes to music categories.
Along with the interview, and tracks from the new album, tonight's show also features new music by Cozy, Rancid, Thurston Moore, and many others, along with tracks from new archive releases by Bob Dylan, Big Star, and The Afghan Whigs.
It's a great episode, and I'd like to thank Matthew for his contribution. Now head over to his site and purchase your own copy of Boxers. You can also read a partial transcript of the interview at my Argus Leader blog
Grab this episode via Stitcher or iTunes, or...


1. Matthew Ryan, Boxers
2. Matthew Ryan, An Anthem for the Broken
3. Bob Dylan & The Band, Folsom Prison Blues
4. Bob Dylan & The Band, Baby Won't You be My Baby
5. Big Star, September Gurls (Live In Memphis)
6. The Afghan Whigs, What Jail Is Like (Demo)
7. Nude Beach, I'm Not Like You
8. The Barreracudas, Promises
9. Meatbodies, Disorder
10. Habibi, I Got the Moves
11. Sleater-Kinney, Bury Our Friends
12. Thurston Moore, The Best Day
13. Rancid, In The Streets
14. COZY, Kiss Me Dummy
15. Scruffy The Cat, Tiger Tiger