New Springsteen Album In January

NEW YORK (AP) — Five days before he takes the stage at the Super Bowl, Bruce Springsteen and the E Street Band will release a new album written and recorded during breaks in their concert tour.

The release of "Working on a Dream" on Jan. 27, only 15 months after "Magic," is unusually quick for an artist with a reputation as a perfectionist.

Springsteen said he was juiced by the return to a more pop sound on "Magic" and kept writing after its release. Producer Brendan O'Brien, when he heard the new songs, suggested "let's keep going," Springsteen said in a statement.

As with "Magic," the new album was recorded with the E Street Band and O'Brien primarily in Atlanta.

"I hope `Working on a Dream' has caught the energy of the band fresh off the road from some of the most exciting shows we've ever done," Springsteen said. "All the songs were written quickly, we usually used one of our first few takes and we all had a blast making this one from beginning to end."

Springsteen is the latest rocker to perform during halftime at the Super Bowl, after the Rolling Stones, U2 and Paul McCartney. This year's game will be played Feb. 1 in Tampa, Fla.

The album also comes a week after the inauguration of Barack Obama. Springsteen performed at some rallies for Obama this fall.

The album has 12 tracks listed, with two more — "The Wrestler" and "A Night With the Jersey Devil" — considered bonus tracks.

Complete Track Listing:

01 Outlaw Pete
02 My Lucky Day
03 Working on a Dream
04 Queen of the Supermarket
05 What Love Can Do
06 This Life
07 Good Eye
08 Tomorrow Never Knows
09 Life Itself
10 Kingdom of Days
11 Surprise, Surprise
12 The Last Carnival
13 The Wrestler *
14 A Night With the Jersey Devil *"


Anonymous said…
I could get more excited about the next Hanna Montana album before Springsteen's release.
We should put him on the, "guys that should've switched to county/western" list.
sorry...i know i pooped in my own cage again.

Popular Posts